CamoPak Pattern Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.12 from 24 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3
rating title date name city state/province country
RNbdvgjDkpJqthaQUxB (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 Chantal auWCVQPJsMCwteRS hk DK
  My husband and i were abtlluseoy glad that Ervin managed to complete his survey through your precious recommendations he grabbed from your own site. It's not at all simplistic to just choose to be giving away points that many other people may have been making money from. And we also remember we have the blog owner to appreciate for this. The illustrations you have made, the simple web site menu, the friendships your site give support to instill it is mostly amazing, and it's making our son and the family feel that the article is excellent, which is seriously pressing. Many thanks for everything!
Works great (5/5) May 6, 2017 Garrett Logan Cheyenne Ok US
  I've purchased three differnt stincel packs and they all work well. Some will leave a sticky residue on after being removed, but that can be taken off with a rag and paint thinner or hot water and a clean synthetic brush. Over all I have no problem with them and will continue to buy them.
Good kit stencils lacking (5/5) Dec 3, 2016 Matt d Saginaw Tx US
  I have purchased several kits in the past few weeks.the packaging has been good and they arrive in a timely manner. The big downfall is the material used for the stencils. If they would switch over to the yellow high temp vinyl there would not be the residue problem like with the type they use. I typically buy the paint kit and Oder the stencils from another company as I have never had an issue with residue left over. All in all, it's still a good product and I would reccomend it to anyone interested
CamoPak Review (5/5) Oct 31, 2015 William Stone Prescott Valley Ar US
  The CamoPak was everything I had hoped it to be. Instructions very clear and the product didn't disappoint. After removing stencils I continued and used a sponge to soften the black some. Most happy. My 10/22 came out awsome!

Thank You

Bill Stone
Camo pattern (5/5) Sep 16, 2014 Dale Plescia Covington La US
  Guys,just buy the colors to do your patterns,use 2 inch blue painters tape and rip down the middle,it leaves a jagged in,works great and does not peel off first coat,I prefer personally the dura bake but the regular dura coat works great if you blast with sand.
sticky situation (3/5) Mar 9, 2014 Patriot frazier park ca US
  I recived my peel and spray kit in a timely manner. After opening the box and not finding a aerosol sprayer was a bit dissapointing but I moved on excited to begin. I read the instructionalns, watched the DVD got a sprayer from the hardware store and started. I applied the base coat and let it dry for about 6 hours. I applied the decals and put the next coat. I let that dry overnight and started the next layer of decal. I went to peel off a bit of the first layer and noticed the adhesive was left behind. Frustrated, I tried to remove it with the recomended mineral spirit with no success. The only thing that did remove it was the tru-strip, but that also removed the paint. So I proceeded and now with an awesome camo pattern I also have an unwanted texture. I like the dura coat product and enjoy using it. Just next time I do, it won't be peel and spray.
Jim Wilt (3/5) Nov 24, 2013 Jim Wilt Garden Grove Ca US
  Camo pak worked very well on all metal finishes , the Poly was a different story , baked it let it cool as directions stated and the peel and stick patterns pulled the base coat right off the stock , had to buy a second kit to redo , followed all prep directions did the same ,..had to touch base coat up .
Camo Kit (5/5) Aug 31, 2013 Richard Hunt Boscawen NH US
  I just received my order and although it will be a little while longer before I begin my camo project I must say this kit is looking very solid.I inspected the stensils that came with it and they appear to be very professional quality.
I do wished I had been more thorough with my planning when ordering my kit.As I am planning to also paint the barrel of my gun I am thinking of applying a heat treatment to the barrel,but didn't think of adding it to my order.But since it will be another couple weeks before it gets done I have time to send out for another package.Their shipping is very fast.
Like camo for dummies! (5/5) Jul 27, 2013 treemaniac Palouse Wa US
  Used the urban mirageflage camo pack to digitize my Imbel FAL furniture. It was my first time using the product and first time trying a camo paint job. The stencils made it a no brainer, Im not artistic but I felt like Picasso after seeing the final result. I made a small stencil set work rather then paying more for the rifle size set. Had to reuse some for the mags but they kept there stickiness for 2 to 3 uses. As far as the duracoat goes its easy to mix and spray, and went on the plastic nice. I recommend using a automotive touch up spray gun rather then an air brush. The airbrush has too fine of a spray and was hard to get even coats.
My experience with an AR-15 (3/5) May 13, 2013 David Bartoli Murrieta Ca US
  I bought the ACU patterns to camouflage an AR-15. However when I started to read about the digital pattern ACU camouflage and how it works on the eyes. I realized the pattern I bought was more decorative that actual camouflage. The idea of camouflage is to trick the eye into recognizing the rifle not as a rifle but as an object that it doesn't need to pay attention to that fits in with the terrain and foliage.
To begin with the camouflage needs to be made from either 3 or 5 colors common to the area of intended use. These consist of either a dark color and a complimentary lighter color and a background color that is complimentary to both colors or a pair of dark colors, a background color and a pair of lighter colors which are all complimentary. My intended use is in the southwestern desert. I went with ACU light tan for the background color. I used Blackhawk coyote tan and desert warrior dark earth for the browns and ACU grey green and ACU deep grey green for the greys and greens.
Almost all things in nature are darker on the top and lighter on the lower parts and there are no strait lines in nature. Further almost all plants have smaller leaves and branches up high than larger leaves and branches below. After some experimenting with the paints I found with the max 10% flattening agent being used the colors would change color density the react to sun and shade the same as natural items like leaves, branches and animal hair or fur. I also found that having any strait surface more than 4 inches long stuck out like a sore thumb unless the background color was identical.
I made a set of templates for the two darker colors with about 3/16th pixels and kept the maximum length to 3.5 inches and depth to 2.25 inches. I alternated the dark colors with about 1.5 inches of spacing for the background color. On the lower part of the rifle I made the pixels about 5/16th of an inch and made the pieces slightly larger than those on top and staggered them with the upper pieces. On the receiver where intermediate templates were needed to keep every area less than 3.5 inches in a single color I kept the pixels at 1/4th of an inch and did a fade-away or blend on the colors. I found this works best when the lighter color is used to paint the entire template area then the upper part is lightly sprayed with the darker color at the very top 1/4 of the height of the template and the overspray creates the fade-away effect; i.e. desert warrior dark earth fading to Blackhawk coyote tan or ACU deep grey green fading to ACU grey green.
I did the entire rifle including the Mag-Pul stock, grips, rails, laser, flashlight, EOTech, back-up tritium sights and mount for the PVS-14. I also did all the magazines to match. With all the accessories I kept the same discipline from all angles of view and made sure the colors followed the color scheme, pixel size and spacing whether each accessory was mounted or not.
The pattern I bought was exactly as represented but since it is not really camouflage I gave it a 3. The paints are excellent and I would give them a 5+.

Back to previous page

1 2 3