CamoPak Pattern Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.12 from 24 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3
rating title date name city state/province country
Snow twig (2/5) Jan 5, 2013 Brett Pasquarella Dripping Springs Te US
  You can't cover an entire rifle(AK) in white with only 2 oz., the kit needs to provide a 4oz bottle and 2 oz of the other 3 colors. Had to buy another bottle of white 4 oz and another $16 shipping to be able to finish the project. The desert kit I bought last year gave you 4 oz of tan, 2 oz or brown, and 2oz desert mint and it worked out perfect on a Saiga 12 gauge. Even had enough left over to paint the 12 round drum and a red dot optic.
Be Patient and good things will come (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Brian M Marietta GA US
  I completed a UrbanMirage camo pak kit on a co-workers Mossberg 500 and matching Maglight. The results were outstanding, but time consuming. Give yourself a full weekend to do the job right for three color patterns or more. Have a sharp exacto knife handy for cuts and placing decals for color 2. Watch out for overspray on female templates during the accent color phase. Prep takes longer than actual painting. I had two old Maglights to test techniques on and use up extra paint.
RNbdvgjDkpJqthaQUxB (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 Chantal auWCVQPJsMCwteRS hk DK
  My husband and i were abtlluseoy glad that Ervin managed to complete his survey through your precious recommendations he grabbed from your own site. It's not at all simplistic to just choose to be giving away points that many other people may have been making money from. And we also remember we have the blog owner to appreciate for this. The illustrations you have made, the simple web site menu, the friendships your site give support to instill it is mostly amazing, and it's making our son and the family feel that the article is excellent, which is seriously pressing. Many thanks for everything!
Tiger stripe camopak (1/5) Dec 13, 2012 Chris Northern Cal Ca US
  The tigerstripe cammo pack didn't work out too well for me. It seemed like there were a lot of cards with very small amount of camo patterns to peel off of them. It definately didn't seem to fill out my AR very well. I ended up using masking tape and ripping it into my own patterns which worked out better. The Dura coat however is an excellent product and very easy to use. I used an airbrush that I had laying around that I paid $9 for at Harbor Freight and it came out very good. I will be buying more Dura Coat to do some other rifles once I decide what pattern/colors I want to do them in.
Camo pattern (5/5) Sep 16, 2014 Dale Plescia Covington La US
  Guys,just buy the colors to do your patterns,use 2 inch blue painters tape and rip down the middle,it leaves a jagged in,works great and does not peel off first coat,I prefer personally the dura bake but the regular dura coat works great if you blast with sand.
My experience with an AR-15 (3/5) May 13, 2013 David Bartoli Murrieta Ca US
  I bought the ACU patterns to camouflage an AR-15. However when I started to read about the digital pattern ACU camouflage and how it works on the eyes. I realized the pattern I bought was more decorative that actual camouflage. The idea of camouflage is to trick the eye into recognizing the rifle not as a rifle but as an object that it doesn't need to pay attention to that fits in with the terrain and foliage.
To begin with the camouflage needs to be made from either 3 or 5 colors common to the area of intended use. These consist of either a dark color and a complimentary lighter color and a background color that is complimentary to both colors or a pair of dark colors, a background color and a pair of lighter colors which are all complimentary. My intended use is in the southwestern desert. I went with ACU light tan for the background color. I used Blackhawk coyote tan and desert warrior dark earth for the browns and ACU grey green and ACU deep grey green for the greys and greens.
Almost all things in nature are darker on the top and lighter on the lower parts and there are no strait lines in nature. Further almost all plants have smaller leaves and branches up high than larger leaves and branches below. After some experimenting with the paints I found with the max 10% flattening agent being used the colors would change color density the react to sun and shade the same as natural items like leaves, branches and animal hair or fur. I also found that having any strait surface more than 4 inches long stuck out like a sore thumb unless the background color was identical.
I made a set of templates for the two darker colors with about 3/16th pixels and kept the maximum length to 3.5 inches and depth to 2.25 inches. I alternated the dark colors with about 1.5 inches of spacing for the background color. On the lower part of the rifle I made the pixels about 5/16th of an inch and made the pieces slightly larger than those on top and staggered them with the upper pieces. On the receiver where intermediate templates were needed to keep every area less than 3.5 inches in a single color I kept the pixels at 1/4th of an inch and did a fade-away or blend on the colors. I found this works best when the lighter color is used to paint the entire template area then the upper part is lightly sprayed with the darker color at the very top 1/4 of the height of the template and the overspray creates the fade-away effect; i.e. desert warrior dark earth fading to Blackhawk coyote tan or ACU deep grey green fading to ACU grey green.
I did the entire rifle including the Mag-Pul stock, grips, rails, laser, flashlight, EOTech, back-up tritium sights and mount for the PVS-14. I also did all the magazines to match. With all the accessories I kept the same discipline from all angles of view and made sure the colors followed the color scheme, pixel size and spacing whether each accessory was mounted or not.
The pattern I bought was exactly as represented but since it is not really camouflage I gave it a 3. The paints are excellent and I would give them a 5+.
Camo kit with sprayer (4/5) Dec 13, 2012 G Davis Rayville Mi US
  The camo kit was easy to use and had enough paint to finish my Uzi and my Mac. Both cam out great, the finish is durable and although it takes a while to completely cure, it was ready to handle within several hours. I would recommend this coating to any hobbyist or pro. That said, the aerosol sprayer that comes with it is the biggest POS I have ever tried to spray with. Go to Harbor Freight and spend 15.00 on the small gravity fed touch up gun and you will be very satisfied, assuming you have an average ability to paint! Spend the extra two dollars for insurance on the gun from Harbor Freight, it is a cheap throw away gun, but you can get a brand new one for free with the insurance. Duracoat should send these guns out instead of that aerosol sprayer.
Works great (5/5) May 6, 2017 Garrett Logan Cheyenne Ok US
  I've purchased three differnt stincel packs and they all work well. Some will leave a sticky residue on after being removed, but that can be taken off with a rag and paint thinner or hot water and a clean synthetic brush. Over all I have no problem with them and will continue to buy them.
AK-47 camo job (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jason Green Lynn Haven FL US
  My dad and built two AK-47s from parts kits to celebrate my 18th birthday. I chose the Barbed Wire CamoPak to paint my gun. I had no problems at all, and my gun came out great! I would highly recommend your products to anyone wanting to paint their firearm. The product is easy to use, and when applied by the directions, you can't go wrong.
Winchester 94 gone camo (5/5) Apr 25, 2013 Jeff Stephens Phoenix AZ US
  product worked out perfectly. I was given a beat up Winchester 94 and decided to make something a little off beat. I mixed old school 30:30 cowboy rifle with latest technology and colors. Desert DPM fit the bill and the rifle turned out Awesome!

Back to previous page

1 2 3