CamoPak Pattern Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.12 from 24 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3
rating title date name city state/province country
Tiger stripe camopak (1/5) Dec 13, 2012 Chris Northern Cal Ca US
  The tigerstripe cammo pack didn't work out too well for me. It seemed like there were a lot of cards with very small amount of camo patterns to peel off of them. It definately didn't seem to fill out my AR very well. I ended up using masking tape and ripping it into my own patterns which worked out better. The Dura coat however is an excellent product and very easy to use. I used an airbrush that I had laying around that I paid $9 for at Harbor Freight and it came out very good. I will be buying more Dura Coat to do some other rifles once I decide what pattern/colors I want to do them in.
Templates (2/5) Feb 23, 2013 Joshua Carr Covington Va US
  It is my opinion that the template sticks to well and peels the paint I would not suggest the
Use of patterns but one solid color I was very displeased with the outcome of the paint job on my firearm.
Snow twig (2/5) Jan 5, 2013 Brett Pasquarella Dripping Springs Te US
  You can't cover an entire rifle(AK) in white with only 2 oz., the kit needs to provide a 4oz bottle and 2 oz of the other 3 colors. Had to buy another bottle of white 4 oz and another $16 shipping to be able to finish the project. The desert kit I bought last year gave you 4 oz of tan, 2 oz or brown, and 2oz desert mint and it worked out perfect on a Saiga 12 gauge. Even had enough left over to paint the 12 round drum and a red dot optic.
sticky situation (3/5) Mar 9, 2014 Patriot frazier park ca US
  I recived my peel and spray kit in a timely manner. After opening the box and not finding a aerosol sprayer was a bit dissapointing but I moved on excited to begin. I read the instructionalns, watched the DVD got a sprayer from the hardware store and started. I applied the base coat and let it dry for about 6 hours. I applied the decals and put the next coat. I let that dry overnight and started the next layer of decal. I went to peel off a bit of the first layer and noticed the adhesive was left behind. Frustrated, I tried to remove it with the recomended mineral spirit with no success. The only thing that did remove it was the tru-strip, but that also removed the paint. So I proceeded and now with an awesome camo pattern I also have an unwanted texture. I like the dura coat product and enjoy using it. Just next time I do, it won't be peel and spray.
Jim Wilt (3/5) Nov 24, 2013 Jim Wilt Garden Grove Ca US
  Camo pak worked very well on all metal finishes , the Poly was a different story , baked it let it cool as directions stated and the peel and stick patterns pulled the base coat right off the stock , had to buy a second kit to redo , followed all prep directions did the same ,..had to touch base coat up .
My experience with an AR-15 (3/5) May 13, 2013 David Bartoli Murrieta Ca US
  I bought the ACU patterns to camouflage an AR-15. However when I started to read about the digital pattern ACU camouflage and how it works on the eyes. I realized the pattern I bought was more decorative that actual camouflage. The idea of camouflage is to trick the eye into recognizing the rifle not as a rifle but as an object that it doesn't need to pay attention to that fits in with the terrain and foliage.
To begin with the camouflage needs to be made from either 3 or 5 colors common to the area of intended use. These consist of either a dark color and a complimentary lighter color and a background color that is complimentary to both colors or a pair of dark colors, a background color and a pair of lighter colors which are all complimentary. My intended use is in the southwestern desert. I went with ACU light tan for the background color. I used Blackhawk coyote tan and desert warrior dark earth for the browns and ACU grey green and ACU deep grey green for the greys and greens.
Almost all things in nature are darker on the top and lighter on the lower parts and there are no strait lines in nature. Further almost all plants have smaller leaves and branches up high than larger leaves and branches below. After some experimenting with the paints I found with the max 10% flattening agent being used the colors would change color density the react to sun and shade the same as natural items like leaves, branches and animal hair or fur. I also found that having any strait surface more than 4 inches long stuck out like a sore thumb unless the background color was identical.
I made a set of templates for the two darker colors with about 3/16th pixels and kept the maximum length to 3.5 inches and depth to 2.25 inches. I alternated the dark colors with about 1.5 inches of spacing for the background color. On the lower part of the rifle I made the pixels about 5/16th of an inch and made the pieces slightly larger than those on top and staggered them with the upper pieces. On the receiver where intermediate templates were needed to keep every area less than 3.5 inches in a single color I kept the pixels at 1/4th of an inch and did a fade-away or blend on the colors. I found this works best when the lighter color is used to paint the entire template area then the upper part is lightly sprayed with the darker color at the very top 1/4 of the height of the template and the overspray creates the fade-away effect; i.e. desert warrior dark earth fading to Blackhawk coyote tan or ACU deep grey green fading to ACU grey green.
I did the entire rifle including the Mag-Pul stock, grips, rails, laser, flashlight, EOTech, back-up tritium sights and mount for the PVS-14. I also did all the magazines to match. With all the accessories I kept the same discipline from all angles of view and made sure the colors followed the color scheme, pixel size and spacing whether each accessory was mounted or not.
The pattern I bought was exactly as represented but since it is not really camouflage I gave it a 3. The paints are excellent and I would give them a 5+.
camopak pattern kit (3/5) Dec 13, 2012 Terry Petersen Cedar City ut US
  The digital stencil was hard to keep on the gun. I had to spray the gun white first and then pink. I took a lot of effort to keep the stencil in place after the first coat. I liked the way the Dura coat went on ,the issuse was with the stencil. Not sure I would use that kit again
Tribal stencils (4/5) May 2, 2013 mark cabezuela artesia nm US
  I ordered these stencils cause I really like tribals. I would of gave it 5 stars but the pattern cuts were not that smooth. But other then that they did thur purpose. The colors I used was matte black and zombie green. On a mossberg 500 it came out awesome. Yall shud have a picture thread to show off your customers work. THANK YOU
Multi kit (4/5) Dec 13, 2012 Timothy Zerbel Mishawaka IN US
  Make no mistake this is an EXCEPTIONAL color match to Crye Multicam. Although the pattern advertised is slightly different, 6 colors match Multi-cam perfectly. To create an exact duplicate, Multi-cam requires a 7th lighter green color (use white and mix with light green to obtain the correct shade. The kit for me contained enough paint to complete 4 1/2 full rifles. This paint sticks like glue when the part is properly prepped and DEGREASED THOUROUGHLY!!!! I painted the inside of a registered M16 and fired nearly 1000 rounds through the receiver on full auto before DuraCoat started showing signs of wear which one would expect even from anodized aluminum. One thing to note: Don't let the color of the wet paint fool you. It will be exact when dry.
* Plus: Excellent color match, Excellent Durability, Thin enough not to affect tolerances on picatinny rails, easy to apply and a true matte finish if you take the time to read the destructions, Mixes with all other Duracoat colors.
Minus: Color pak could be improved for Multi-cam with the addition of a 7th lighter color for the light spots of Multicam.

Lauer, Your prices are a little outrageous! $14.00 for 8 oz of thinner??? You should be paying us to use it! Step out of the spray booth sometime and clear the fumes from your heads. Secondly I ordered FLAT DARK Earth one time and got a Definite Coyote brown. Ide love your service department to call me about it. I figured it would change a bit when dry and NOPE.....Coyote Brown Product opened and used I didn't figure to get anywhere. Nothing dark about it. Would I use it again? Bottom line is I would but the product is overvalued and it bothers me because I know what good paint costs. Top grade CARC is 200 bucks a GALLON. As a professional painter the high price makes it unreasonable for the average professional to make it worth my time. As an individual, I would paint my own firearms with DuraCoat exclusively but be bitter about the price.
Camo kit with sprayer (4/5) Dec 13, 2012 G Davis Rayville Mi US
  The camo kit was easy to use and had enough paint to finish my Uzi and my Mac. Both cam out great, the finish is durable and although it takes a while to completely cure, it was ready to handle within several hours. I would recommend this coating to any hobbyist or pro. That said, the aerosol sprayer that comes with it is the biggest POS I have ever tried to spray with. Go to Harbor Freight and spend 15.00 on the small gravity fed touch up gun and you will be very satisfied, assuming you have an average ability to paint! Spend the extra two dollars for insurance on the gun from Harbor Freight, it is a cheap throw away gun, but you can get a brand new one for free with the insurance. Duracoat should send these guns out instead of that aerosol sprayer.

Back to previous page

1 2 3