CamoPak Pattern Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.12 from 24 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3
rating title date name city state/province country
CamoPak Review (5/5) Oct 31, 2015 William Stone Prescott Valley Ar US
  The CamoPak was everything I had hoped it to be. Instructions very clear and the product didn't disappoint. After removing stencils I continued and used a sponge to soften the black some. Most happy. My 10/22 came out awsome!

Thank You

Bill Stone
Winchester 94 gone camo (5/5) Apr 25, 2013 Jeff Stephens Phoenix AZ US
  product worked out perfectly. I was given a beat up Winchester 94 and decided to make something a little off beat. I mixed old school 30:30 cowboy rifle with latest technology and colors. Desert DPM fit the bill and the rifle turned out Awesome!
sticky situation (3/5) Mar 9, 2014 Patriot frazier park ca US
  I recived my peel and spray kit in a timely manner. After opening the box and not finding a aerosol sprayer was a bit dissapointing but I moved on excited to begin. I read the instructionalns, watched the DVD got a sprayer from the hardware store and started. I applied the base coat and let it dry for about 6 hours. I applied the decals and put the next coat. I let that dry overnight and started the next layer of decal. I went to peel off a bit of the first layer and noticed the adhesive was left behind. Frustrated, I tried to remove it with the recomended mineral spirit with no success. The only thing that did remove it was the tru-strip, but that also removed the paint. So I proceeded and now with an awesome camo pattern I also have an unwanted texture. I like the dura coat product and enjoy using it. Just next time I do, it won't be peel and spray.
Jim Wilt (3/5) Nov 24, 2013 Jim Wilt Garden Grove Ca US
  Camo pak worked very well on all metal finishes , the Poly was a different story , baked it let it cool as directions stated and the peel and stick patterns pulled the base coat right off the stock , had to buy a second kit to redo , followed all prep directions did the same ,..had to touch base coat up .
My experience with an AR-15 (3/5) May 13, 2013 David Bartoli Murrieta Ca US
  I bought the ACU patterns to camouflage an AR-15. However when I started to read about the digital pattern ACU camouflage and how it works on the eyes. I realized the pattern I bought was more decorative that actual camouflage. The idea of camouflage is to trick the eye into recognizing the rifle not as a rifle but as an object that it doesn't need to pay attention to that fits in with the terrain and foliage.
To begin with the camouflage needs to be made from either 3 or 5 colors common to the area of intended use. These consist of either a dark color and a complimentary lighter color and a background color that is complimentary to both colors or a pair of dark colors, a background color and a pair of lighter colors which are all complimentary. My intended use is in the southwestern desert. I went with ACU light tan for the background color. I used Blackhawk coyote tan and desert warrior dark earth for the browns and ACU grey green and ACU deep grey green for the greys and greens.
Almost all things in nature are darker on the top and lighter on the lower parts and there are no strait lines in nature. Further almost all plants have smaller leaves and branches up high than larger leaves and branches below. After some experimenting with the paints I found with the max 10% flattening agent being used the colors would change color density the react to sun and shade the same as natural items like leaves, branches and animal hair or fur. I also found that having any strait surface more than 4 inches long stuck out like a sore thumb unless the background color was identical.
I made a set of templates for the two darker colors with about 3/16th pixels and kept the maximum length to 3.5 inches and depth to 2.25 inches. I alternated the dark colors with about 1.5 inches of spacing for the background color. On the lower part of the rifle I made the pixels about 5/16th of an inch and made the pieces slightly larger than those on top and staggered them with the upper pieces. On the receiver where intermediate templates were needed to keep every area less than 3.5 inches in a single color I kept the pixels at 1/4th of an inch and did a fade-away or blend on the colors. I found this works best when the lighter color is used to paint the entire template area then the upper part is lightly sprayed with the darker color at the very top 1/4 of the height of the template and the overspray creates the fade-away effect; i.e. desert warrior dark earth fading to Blackhawk coyote tan or ACU deep grey green fading to ACU grey green.
I did the entire rifle including the Mag-Pul stock, grips, rails, laser, flashlight, EOTech, back-up tritium sights and mount for the PVS-14. I also did all the magazines to match. With all the accessories I kept the same discipline from all angles of view and made sure the colors followed the color scheme, pixel size and spacing whether each accessory was mounted or not.
The pattern I bought was exactly as represented but since it is not really camouflage I gave it a 3. The paints are excellent and I would give them a 5+.
Tiger stripe camopak (1/5) Dec 13, 2012 Chris Northern Cal Ca US
  The tigerstripe cammo pack didn't work out too well for me. It seemed like there were a lot of cards with very small amount of camo patterns to peel off of them. It definately didn't seem to fill out my AR very well. I ended up using masking tape and ripping it into my own patterns which worked out better. The Dura coat however is an excellent product and very easy to use. I used an airbrush that I had laying around that I paid $9 for at Harbor Freight and it came out very good. I will be buying more Dura Coat to do some other rifles once I decide what pattern/colors I want to do them in.
AK-47 camo job (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Jason Green Lynn Haven FL US
  My dad and built two AK-47s from parts kits to celebrate my 18th birthday. I chose the Barbed Wire CamoPak to paint my gun. I had no problems at all, and my gun came out great! I would highly recommend your products to anyone wanting to paint their firearm. The product is easy to use, and when applied by the directions, you can't go wrong.
Be Patient and good things will come (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Brian M Marietta GA US
  I completed a UrbanMirage camo pak kit on a co-workers Mossberg 500 and matching Maglight. The results were outstanding, but time consuming. Give yourself a full weekend to do the job right for three color patterns or more. Have a sharp exacto knife handy for cuts and placing decals for color 2. Watch out for overspray on female templates during the accent color phase. Prep takes longer than actual painting. I had two old Maglights to test techniques on and use up extra paint.
RNbdvgjDkpJqthaQUxB (5/5) Mar 11, 2013 Chantal auWCVQPJsMCwteRS hk DK
  My husband and i were abtlluseoy glad that Ervin managed to complete his survey through your precious recommendations he grabbed from your own site. It's not at all simplistic to just choose to be giving away points that many other people may have been making money from. And we also remember we have the blog owner to appreciate for this. The illustrations you have made, the simple web site menu, the friendships your site give support to instill it is mostly amazing, and it's making our son and the family feel that the article is excellent, which is seriously pressing. Many thanks for everything!
Multi kit (4/5) Dec 13, 2012 Timothy Zerbel Mishawaka IN US
  Make no mistake this is an EXCEPTIONAL color match to Crye Multicam. Although the pattern advertised is slightly different, 6 colors match Multi-cam perfectly. To create an exact duplicate, Multi-cam requires a 7th lighter green color (use white and mix with light green to obtain the correct shade. The kit for me contained enough paint to complete 4 1/2 full rifles. This paint sticks like glue when the part is properly prepped and DEGREASED THOUROUGHLY!!!! I painted the inside of a registered M16 and fired nearly 1000 rounds through the receiver on full auto before DuraCoat started showing signs of wear which one would expect even from anodized aluminum. One thing to note: Don't let the color of the wet paint fool you. It will be exact when dry.
* Plus: Excellent color match, Excellent Durability, Thin enough not to affect tolerances on picatinny rails, easy to apply and a true matte finish if you take the time to read the destructions, Mixes with all other Duracoat colors.
Minus: Color pak could be improved for Multi-cam with the addition of a 7th lighter color for the light spots of Multicam.

Lauer, Your prices are a little outrageous! $14.00 for 8 oz of thinner??? You should be paying us to use it! Step out of the spray booth sometime and clear the fumes from your heads. Secondly I ordered FLAT DARK Earth one time and got a Definite Coyote brown. Ide love your service department to call me about it. I figured it would change a bit when dry and NOPE.....Coyote Brown Product opened and used I didn't figure to get anywhere. Nothing dark about it. Would I use it again? Bottom line is I would but the product is overvalued and it bothers me because I know what good paint costs. Top grade CARC is 200 bucks a GALLON. As a professional painter the high price makes it unreasonable for the average professional to make it worth my time. As an individual, I would paint my own firearms with DuraCoat exclusively but be bitter about the price.

Back to previous page

1 2 3