Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
amazing product (5/5) Aug 3, 2017 Anonymous
  I painted an AK with in a four color flecktarn pattern. The result is amazing. The paint was easy to use and apply. The finish is amazingly durable. The only problem is that now I want to paint every weapon in my gun safe...
Quality products and fast shipping (5/5) Apr 2, 2016 Eric B. Dallas TX
  This duracoat spray is so ez to apply. With great results. I recommend it to anyone trying to make their pistol a little different from all the others out there. And so many colors to choose from.
Aerosol kit (5/5) Dec 19, 2015 Steven Paul Long beach CA
  This all in one can is great. I followed the instruction and video by DuraCoat inventor can't go wrong. The cleaner just before painting is a must. Prep's surface just right. Using hairdryer or paint gun between coats is great for allowing dry time between coats. I wait till I have several items to be done before using can. Then use it with three to four coats per item. Don't over spray coats, build up over several coats, that's another tip.
Great Product (4/5) Apr 21, 2015 Anonymous
  Only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the product states enough is in the can for "2 to 4 firearms"... didn't get that out of it by a long shot, but I did put multiple coats on multiple parts so...

In any event the aerosol mixes as advertised and sprays as advertised. There was a video from Mr. Lauer on YouTube regarding this that said to use a hair drier to dry off the solvents between coats which helps to speed up the between-coat time. Multiple light coats is the way to go (as with any spray paint) and the product results are very nice; just wish there was more in the can!
raybone (3/5) Apr 6, 2015 Anonymous
  Colt grey does not match. Finish is also way too glossy. supposed to be completely flat. Seems to be a tough finish. plan on time getting parts to work correctly again.
Aerosol review (5/5) Jul 14, 2014 Anonymous TX
  Very easy to use, easy to apply. If you can use a spray paint can then you can use this product. If your only doing one or two guns this is the way to go. I used the combat grey and it came out perfect.
Aerosol (5/5) Sep 2, 2017 Michael Sheedy Schenectady Ne US
  So easy to use! Make sure you have completely cleaned your fireararm, or other project and you are 90% there.
Paint in light coats coverage complete in 3 coats. Easy to use, Tough as nails finish. Magpul colors match perfect.
Buy your own spray gun (3/5) Aug 5, 2017 Philip Nagel Gettysburg So US
  The overall product was great. However the aerosol application was wasteful and uneven. As the can started to get closer to empty, it sprayed in kind of a blotchy way that created a rough finish.
I sanded the firearm down, and reordered the 4oz bottle to apply the material with my own equipment.

Overall, Duracoat is a great product, but I have been burned by both the Prevail applicator and the aerosol method. Its best - and cheapest - to use your own sprayer.
Aerosol kit (5/5) Jul 29, 2017 Samuel Butler Mobile 36587 Al US
  I tried cerakote paid for wrong spray gun and got nowhere was told by a friend of DuraCoat arousal gave it a call and got helpful service from their staff. Ordered as Soon as I got off the phone and was not disapointed! Painted my Charles daily and Rock island 45 acp both look amazing and I'm already ordering more kits of blues blacks and other family colors. I recommend theses starter kits for all my friends and people I know who want to have their own weapons looking great and scratch free.
Tactical Light Grey (5/5) Jul 22, 2017 Taylor Wiseman Greenwood IN US
  I recently purchased the tactical light grey aerosol and the color is exactly what I was looking for. This is not my first Duracoat purchase and definitely not my last. I had a slight issue with the can. I was about half way through painting the second rifle (AR Uppler, Lower, and 15 inch Rail), and the paint started to spray out in big drops rather than a fine mist. I switched caps after cleaning it, tried to clear the lines using the air compressor and spraying the can upside down, but soon after it seemed as if all the are s was gone yet there was still paint in the can. Like I said not my first time, I weigh every can prior to start and they are always 12 Ozs and an empty can weighs between 4-4.5 Ozs. This can still weighed.7 ozs. Now for the part that made me a dedicated customer, I contacted Houts and let them know of the issue and laid out the steps I took for prep and painting and I received an email the next business day saying it sounded like the can failed and a new can would be sent out. I received it two days later! That kind of service is what everyone wants personal, direct, and no nonsense. I have since finished the rifles and they look amazing. You don't have to be a certified professional to use these products, all you have to do is follow directions and you will end up with a professional result.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6