Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Awesome (5/5) Mar 6, 2014 Will Farrugia Lake Worth Fl US
  I was very skeptical about a finish in a can..............But!. easy, fast, cheap, and in the end spectacular finish. My 15 year old Savage .308 looks like a brand new gun. Many more projects on the horizon.
Andy (4/5) Mar 21, 2014 Douglas Hyde Copperhill TN US
  Last I checked no one had reviewed the Aerosol Can product. I ordered Gloss Black, applied it to an old Model 60 and refinished the stock. Looks better...
A one (5/5) Mar 29, 2014 Jason Brandenburg Ky US
  Knew the product was good before I ordered it but once I had it in my hands turned a average weapon into a piece if art
Aerosol Complete Kit (5/5) Mar 30, 2014 Tony S. Campbell Ca US
  I used the kit on my lower receiver today. The finish came out perfect. Great product. I should have ordered the Matte Black instead of Combat Black though.
Paint colors (3/5) Apr 12, 2014 Mike McCollum Arlington US
  Need larger color swatches. Very difficult for older eyes to see the colors clearly. Yes, older shooters buy your products.

I would also like to see those individual swatches in a download so I can fill my screen and get a feel for the color(a).

I have enjoyed the product.
Good Results (4/5) Apr 26, 2014 Dan Fite Sparks NV US
  I used the rattle can to spray my Sig 225 and my son's Ruger Blackhawk. The spray was a little heavier than I would have liked. I ended up with a bright spot on the Sig and a run on the barrel of the Blackhawk, both of which were my fault, not the Duracoat product. The problem was that I didn't notice the bright spot or the run until the next day. Since the product literature said the spray can would be viable for 48 hours I sanded off the run and tried to apply another coat to the Blackhawk barrel. The spray can spit globs of Duracoat at the barrel making a splattered mess. When it started to dry it evened out somewhat but left an ugly textured appearance. All the other parts came out beautiful. Lesson learned. If you use the spray can make sure you spray from an 18 to 20 inch distance, not the 10 to 12 recommended in the instructions or the spray pattern will be too heavy, and paint everything you intend to paint with the first use of the product. Any product that dries in the spray nozzle no matter how small will ruin any future spray effort even if the product in the can is still viable. Also check your work to make sure you have complete coverage, because if you find you have a problem the next day you will end up having to buy another can of product to correct your mistakes.

I stripped the barrel of the Blackhawk with lacquer thinner and ordered another kit, this time Shake and Spray but I haven't had a chance to use it yet because of the weather being to cold. This time I will make sure the barrel is nice and warm and the product is warm, and keep my distance to apply a couple of light coats.

I love the product but it is not as easy to spray as paint in a regular spray can. I would not hesitate to use it again.
Fred Marshall (5/5) May 3, 2014 Fred Marshall Ramer Al US
  Received my Dura Coat Aerosol a few days ago, and couldn't be more pleased. Easy-to-follow instructions made the whole process a snap. Just like the company says, if you've ever used spray paint to paint lawn furniture etc., you'll find no problem using Dura Coat Aerosol. I used it to cover a couple of AR free-float handguards.
parker color (4/5) Jun 7, 2014 paul drossart manistique mi US
  used it on my ak. easy to use but too shiny.
Aerosol review (5/5) Jul 14, 2014 Anonymous TX
  Very easy to use, easy to apply. If you can use a spray paint can then you can use this product. If your only doing one or two guns this is the way to go. I used the combat grey and it came out perfect.
First timer... (5/5) Jul 28, 2014 Steve R Thousand Oaks CA US
  ok, this was the first time i have ever used any product to refinish a gun/parts. i got the full kit (black matte), instructions are clear and straight forward for the most part.

i had read about matte being too shinny in some cases and i learned the hard way to follow the directions!!! this does NOT go on like regular spray paint, it is made to go on in very thin coats (as stated in the directions :-) ) ...DO NOT WORRY ABOUT COVERAGE. after 3 or a few more coats you will have more than needed coverage.

BUT if you spay it too heavy, you will get a smooth SHINNY coating. luckily for me, the part of the barrel that i did wrong (too thick) will not be seen because of the hand guard. everything else (once i learned my lesson) turned out great, as it should.

i will definitely use this product in the future... Steve

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6