Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
amazing product (5/5) Aug 3, 2017 Anonymous
  I painted an AK with in a four color flecktarn pattern. The result is amazing. The paint was easy to use and apply. The finish is amazingly durable. The only problem is that now I want to paint every weapon in my gun safe...
Great Product (4/5) Apr 21, 2015 Anonymous
  Only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that the product states enough is in the can for "2 to 4 firearms"... didn't get that out of it by a long shot, but I did put multiple coats on multiple parts so...

In any event the aerosol mixes as advertised and sprays as advertised. There was a video from Mr. Lauer on YouTube regarding this that said to use a hair drier to dry off the solvents between coats which helps to speed up the between-coat time. Multiple light coats is the way to go (as with any spray paint) and the product results are very nice; just wish there was more in the can!
raybone (3/5) Apr 6, 2015 Anonymous
  Colt grey does not match. Finish is also way too glossy. supposed to be completely flat. Seems to be a tough finish. plan on time getting parts to work correctly again.
Aerosol review (5/5) Jul 14, 2014 Anonymous TX
  Very easy to use, easy to apply. If you can use a spray paint can then you can use this product. If your only doing one or two guns this is the way to go. I used the combat grey and it came out perfect.
Aerosol Paint and kit (5/5) Apr 16, 2016 Ashleigh Moczygemba Austin Te US
  Easy to use, fast dry time great buy
Valentines gun (5/5) Jan 30, 2016 Bradley nelson Oxnard Ca US
  I bought lilac purple and black "just paint" for my finances gun did very nice rose tiger stripe pattern that went together nicely very happy.
The pain overall came out great very easy to use and so nice came with second nozzle for later.

I paint stuff all the time and eays of use of this definitely make me put again
Aerosol Kit (3/5) Jan 21, 2016 Brett Boyd Hahira GA US
  I have used the mix and shake product in the past and have had fantastic results. I am giving this particular product a 3 not because the chemical itself is any different, but because once you reach the end of the can, it spurts and sputters causing the finish to become rougher. I would also add that it might do 4 firearms if they were all 22 derringers. If you get Duracoat, definitey stay with the mix and shake (glass bottle).
Blue black kit (5/5) Jul 1, 2017 Bruce Russell Cameron Park CA US
  Will use this kit again should I need to, my 40 year old model 28-2 .357 S&W looks brand new.
2 guns with duracoat (5/5) Sep 23, 2016 Charles Fort Worth Te US
  The first gun was an AR-10 that was painted in Magpul FDE while it was still in parts. All parts were new, unused. I scuffed everything with 180 sandpaper, including the stainless barrel. One can painted the entire gun and scope. I used a hair dryer between coats to flash off aerosol and to help set the coat. I put the gun together 2 days later and put it up. The only place the coating came off was right on the sharp edge of the barrel. This gun gets used heavily and very happy with results. Second was a Remington 721 300 H&H that was painted in Matte Black. Same process, same results. Has been to New Mexico and Idaho with the only finish loss coming on one spot of the bolt handle being in a leather scabbard. Do not count on a can doing more than one long gun; it isn't going to happen. It is a tough product and is easy to apply. They should probably change the amount of coverage expectation, which I think would help with customer satisfaction.
DuraBlue Aerosol kit (4/5) May 21, 2016 Charles Barr Canal Winchester Oh US
  The aerosol can works well. It does lay down a lot of volume though. I think Mr. Houts was correct when he told me that you will waste less product if you use an airbrush. I ended up running out of product because I was bluing 2 firearms at the same time, and the aerosol can dispenses at a high volume.
The can is very convenient though, with the hardener being inside the can.
Additionally, in my case I was restoring an old, beat up shotgun. In hindsight I think I would have used DuraFill to fill some pits, and provide better adhesion to the bare metal. So, if you're spraying bare metal (ie, no parkerizing or anodizing), make sure you apply very light coats at first. This will allow your subsequent coats to adhere better.
When I was done though, it looked great. Outstanding product. I've now used DuraCoat in all 3 methods: Can, airbrush, and HVLP sprayer.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6