Aerosol Paint Only & Full Kit reviews

Global Rating: 4.60 from 58 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6
rating title date name city state/province country
Buy your own spray gun (3/5) Aug 5, 2017 Philip Nagel Gettysburg So US
  The overall product was great. However the aerosol application was wasteful and uneven. As the can started to get closer to empty, it sprayed in kind of a blotchy way that created a rough finish.
I sanded the firearm down, and reordered the 4oz bottle to apply the material with my own equipment.

Overall, Duracoat is a great product, but I have been burned by both the Prevail applicator and the aerosol method. Its best - and cheapest - to use your own sprayer.
Duracoat (3/5) May 28, 2016 Chris howard League city Tx US
  After following all directions to the letter what I have found is this:

After cleaning all parts with tru strip, I coated them with the Duracoat Aerosol as per manufacturer instructions.
Once coating was complete I let sit for 30 days prior to assembly.
It does go on quite easily.
It is an amazing color.
Upon assembly, my upper was scratched at the sight attachment points.
If I bump it against anything(wood, plastic, metal) it scratches.

It appears to scratch off rather easily. As such, I would say that it's not worth the almost 60.00 it cost for the paint and delivery

At this point, I am disappointed in the end result but still give it 3 stars because of the ease of application and color. There has got to be a way to toughen up the finish.
Aerosol Kit (3/5) Jan 21, 2016 Brett Boyd Hahira GA US
  I have used the mix and shake product in the past and have had fantastic results. I am giving this particular product a 3 not because the chemical itself is any different, but because once you reach the end of the can, it spurts and sputters causing the finish to become rougher. I would also add that it might do 4 firearms if they were all 22 derringers. If you get Duracoat, definitey stay with the mix and shake (glass bottle).
Good price (3/5) May 9, 2015 Gene Haynes Heavener Ok US
  Bought the can of DuraCoat Matte Black, it worked as advertised.
I finished several parts it came out beautiful,
some small runs but when it dried about 24 hours later they were gone, everyone at the pawn shop
where I visit were visit were impressed.
I tried to spray a barrel of a 1890 Winchester the
next morning, all I got was a sputtering and bunch of crap, am completely in awe with the results before. Do not believe it is useful after 24 hours.
I bought a airbrush and going to use it with the
kits provide, will post the results.






raybone (3/5) Apr 6, 2015 Anonymous
  Colt grey does not match. Finish is also way too glossy. supposed to be completely flat. Seems to be a tough finish. plan on time getting parts to work correctly again.
Paint colors (3/5) Apr 12, 2014 Mike McCollum Arlington US
  Need larger color swatches. Very difficult for older eyes to see the colors clearly. Yes, older shooters buy your products.

I would also like to see those individual swatches in a download so I can fill my screen and get a feel for the color(a).

I have enjoyed the product.
Two part kit & Shake / Spray Clear (4/5) Mar 6, 2017 Gene Diehl Peoria Ar US
  I found these products to be excellent . Both ; the Stainless Steel spray , and the Clear worked very well. My single recommendation to anyone using any of the Dura-Coat products is to have a clean , smooth , properly sanded & prepped surface . Contamination of any kind will destroy your paint job . Sand , clean , clean it again .
The spray cleaner included in the kit was outstanding when used with the scotch-brite pad for final prep . Just give it about five to ten minutes to evaporate before attempting to use paint .
I would have given it five stars if the Stainless Steel had been closer in color to real stainless , than the soft grey color that is almost identical to the color Honda uses to paint their engines on the Goldwing Motorcycle .
I have that color in my paint cabinet ; ( own two G-W's ) and have re-painted the motors . Besides ; I could have saved forty bucks .

Over-all ? A very good product that I would recommend to anyone .
tactical dark earth (4/5) Dec 31, 2016 will gun doc bay saint louis ms US
  this kit is very good value and the products are top quality, however when applying the actual duracoat be very careful and do not spray as you would a regular spray paint. i sprayed approximately 8-10 inches from my rifle in a light coating pattern and still observed a few runs. im not worried about the runs or even the appearance bc it was an old model 88 maverick and the duracoat was applied just to prevent rust and protect the faded and worn blueing.
my advice is use extremely light coats maybe 12 inches from the surface of the weapon.
Easier than you'd think (4/5) Oct 24, 2016 craig collins Thatcher Ar US
  The aerosol spray kit is very easy to do - if you have ever spray-painted anything successfully, you can get great results with this. The amount of coverage is the only reason I rated 4 stars instead of 5 stars, as I used 3 cans to get complete coverage of two long guns. If I did the same job again, I would order 1 kit in FDE and one can of white as a primer. Since I was coating all black parts with the FDE, I used a lot of coats just to completely cover the black. On a positive note, the spray clear in the kit is enough to clean 2 long guns. I would recommend this product as the end result is just what I hoped for, and the durability seems excellent.
DuraBlue Aerosol kit (4/5) May 21, 2016 Charles Barr Canal Winchester Oh US
  The aerosol can works well. It does lay down a lot of volume though. I think Mr. Houts was correct when he told me that you will waste less product if you use an airbrush. I ended up running out of product because I was bluing 2 firearms at the same time, and the aerosol can dispenses at a high volume.
The can is very convenient though, with the hardener being inside the can.
Additionally, in my case I was restoring an old, beat up shotgun. In hindsight I think I would have used DuraFill to fill some pits, and provide better adhesion to the bare metal. So, if you're spraying bare metal (ie, no parkerizing or anodizing), make sure you apply very light coats at first. This will allow your subsequent coats to adhere better.
When I was done though, it looked great. Outstanding product. I've now used DuraCoat in all 3 methods: Can, airbrush, and HVLP sprayer.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6