Shake N Bake Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.75 from 20 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
Fast professional finish (5/5) Sep 14, 2013 John Beck Ma US
  I just finished up some 80% AR15 Lowers and needed to get something on them to protect the aluminum. I don't have the expertise to anodize so I started looking at the baked on finishes. I chose Oxide (Black) DuraBake and simply followed the directions.

Degreased the lowers, sprayed a nice even coat of Durabake over them. Let them set up for about 15-20 minutes, and then popped them into my $15 Thrift store toaster oven at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes.

My lowers came out looking very similar to other professionally finished lowers. They look great. I'll use Durabake whenever I need to finish up a firearm, or other metal surface!

Great stuff, I'm a fan for life!
great product (5/5) Jun 15, 2013 Anonymous ca
  Super easy to use and looks great! I needed some finish that would protect my handmade knives from rusting, and was durable enough to withstand abuse, but also easy enough to apply in my garage.
nice finish! (5/5) Dec 22, 2012 dan Ka US
  it was just as i expected. simply shake, spray, and bake. it went on easy and seems to be very tough. i recommend it.
Jeff (4/5) Aug 24, 2014 Jeffrey Guidry Bagdad Ke US
  I'm an experienced painter, and as a first time user of Duracoat, found this application to be pretty straight forward. Application was on an AK-47 parts kit. The receiver, dust cover and selector lever all came out beautifully! Smooth finish, matt black and rock hard! The stainless steel barrel didn't cure as well; however, this was likely due to operator error: I believe the application was too heavy.
James Poland (5/5) Oct 10, 2013 James Poland Branchla d We US
  Orderd this on the 8th and was at my door 11:42am the 10th. Super awsome and now know where and who to come to for all my supplies. Thanks Guys!!!
Matte Black (5/5) Sep 14, 2014 Steven Donahue Coulterville Ca US
  Outstanding,Outstanding,Outstanding. I received your product and followed the instructions and baked for 15 minutes and then sprayed again and baked. My lower AR's look like professional finishes.
Shake N Bake (5/5) Jul 17, 2016 George Lucas Junction City KS US
  This was the best and easiest way to add just the right touch of color to my latest build. You get the cleaner/degreaser and your paint with simple, easy to follow instructions. The coated parts came out as close to perfect as you could want. You should try the Shake N Bake on your next build, you'll be glad you did.
Shake N Bake (5/5) Feb 23, 2013 Dale Stone Lavonia Ge US
  Although I consider myself an amateur, I have had no problems using this product. I have refinished two barrels with two different color kits and was rewarded with two great results. Metal preparation is critical and spraying several light coats give a smooth, even finish. I do the baking in a conventional oven and it produces a very durable finish. I am well pleased with the process and the results. I've ordered another color for another project.
works awesome (5/5) Feb 6, 2016 Tommy Kaminaka Long Beach Ca US
  I Bought Duracoat Shake N Bake to coat and protect my Remington 870. I used WW2 OD Green and left the furniture Blk and I have to say it looks awesome. I sand blasted the parts then Proceeded as instructed and it worked out great, I am really happy with the results. Oh and it wont stink you out your house!
matt black (5/5) Dec 9, 2013 john torbert Lynchburg Vi US
  A little thinner than I expected. Best results were a light quick mist from 14" away, let dry & repeat until it is covered. Turned out great once I had the method down. Found that a gasoline soaked rag will take it off even after it has air dried. 6oz can goes much further than I expected.

Back to previous page

1 2