Shake N Bake Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.75 from 20 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2
rating title date name city state/province country
works well so far (4/5) Oct 8, 2013 Evan Sata Northridge Ca US
  pretty easy to use, plenty to go around, one thing though, hang your parts to spray, bake then re-hang to cool. if you leave a piece laying on something where it will cool unevenly, the finish can get messed up. also the longer you bake, the more matte it will be and it will slightly lighten the color.
works awesome (5/5) Feb 6, 2016 Tommy Kaminaka Long Beach Ca US
  I Bought Duracoat Shake N Bake to coat and protect my Remington 870. I used WW2 OD Green and left the furniture Blk and I have to say it looks awesome. I sand blasted the parts then Proceeded as instructed and it worked out great, I am really happy with the results. Oh and it wont stink you out your house!
Use this finish! (5/5) Mar 10, 2013 Jack Herrell St. Libory NE US
  This is fantastic stuff. I just refinished 2 of my black powder revolvers, and I couldn't be happier. I used the "Parker" finish, and would have a problem distinguishing the finish from a professional parkerizing job. I highly recommend this product, and will be buying it again.
The Best (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Judith Ladner Mayer Ar US
  My husband & I run a small gunsmith business and build True Airsoft Gas operated trainers ( not gaming zinc toys) for Law Enforcement, Military and Global Security. In our business we have found that over 50% ends up being refinishing the weapon or training unit. My husband has been a gunsmith for 30 years in civilian life and 35plus years for the Navy. His only "shake & Bake" back then was a slate gray spray can from a well known gun supplier. It was very good and durable. That said, we discovered Dura Coat and have used it exclusively. It is the most durable and the metal protection is the best we have seen, if.... applied correctly.

You can wipe down or use the grease cutter spray and rough-up the metal then apply with a mid-range Air Brush for good results. However... if you plan on perfect & lasting results get a simple grit blaster and a good air compressor from "Harbor Tool". Then get a water trap filter and a quality Air Brush plus a mid-range spray gun for AR-15 receivers and larger projects. Keep the Air Brush for slides or parts work. For the part time user the Air Brush will tempt you to "over-coat". The mid-range spray gun will do all in 2 passes done right. Remember, steel wool & the Dura Coat grease cutter works well for very light projects. Also the darkest matte finish will show the condition of the metal & finish under your Dura Coat job. With a Blaster you can remove all the old paint or finish. For the softer cast aircraft grade aluminum used in the Airsoft trainers we will use walnut media. However on a real weapon slide if the customer wants a real dark matte finish we use bead blast to create the stipple on the metal. With the correctly prepared metal the Dura Coat becomes like factory finish only better. Our deputies & local police never suffer holster wear again. Our Non gaming Airsoft customers can really be the torture test for the training units. The out-of-box Asian finish is gone within 2 months or sooner. With the properly prepared metal the training units never come back for a refinish.

If you go as far as getting a finish blaster and good sprayers go to the 'Mart" and get a "B&D" counter top oven and temp gauge for your Dura Coat ONLY! Don't cook hotdogs or cupcakes in it and use for Dura Coat too. The cooking oils from the food will not be good for your new finish baking on your project and your cupcakes will taste like epoxy. For full barrels get a propane expert and a welder to make you a barrel baker. It is worth it. Finally, for the custom poly/steel weapons if the lower poly receiver needs a Camo finish or color change you will need the non "Shake & Bake" home spray kit. They work great!!! just follow the instructions and adjust your thinking for the poly lower frame work on the prep. Have fun and enjoy the best finish out there.
Take your time (5/5) Sep 7, 2014 Phil Marrin San Antonio Te US
  Take your time when learning to use the kit. On my first attempt, I tried to go too fast and sprayed to close. I ended up with a rough bumpy finish (not pretty). I wet sanded my receiver down and started over. This time I stayed 12 - 16 inches away and made single / smooth passes. I then let it set for 15 - 20 mjnutes in the sun between each coat. Since I exposed some bare metal when sanding the receiver back down, I had to make more passes than probably would have been necessary otherwise. Wanting to be extra careful so not to repeat my first attempt, I spent probably 2 hours making light coats until I thought everything was covered. I then hung it in the sun while my wife finished dinner (after all, I needed the oven). Since most electric stoves heat from the bottom element (unless on broil), I used a small piece of metal wire hanger to hang the receiver from the top element and baked it for about 22 - 25 minutes @ 350 (wanted to be sure it was done). I then turned the stove off and let the stove and receiver cool down on its own. When I pulled it out later, I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. While it might not be absolutely perfect, it looks pretty darn good. I will being doing the slide off one of my Glocks next. When you order a Shake & Bake kit, order an extra 16 oz can of the TruStrip. You use a lot more of the cleaner / prep solution than the coating itself (you need to remove all oils / lubricants from the metal before attempting to coat). Have fun and thanks for reading my review.
Shake N Bake (5/5) Jul 17, 2016 George Lucas Junction City KS US
  This was the best and easiest way to add just the right touch of color to my latest build. You get the cleaner/degreaser and your paint with simple, easy to follow instructions. The coated parts came out as close to perfect as you could want. You should try the Shake N Bake on your next build, you'll be glad you did.
Shake N Bake (5/5) Feb 23, 2013 Dale Stone Lavonia Ge US
  Although I consider myself an amateur, I have had no problems using this product. I have refinished two barrels with two different color kits and was rewarded with two great results. Metal preparation is critical and spraying several light coats give a smooth, even finish. I do the baking in a conventional oven and it produces a very durable finish. I am well pleased with the process and the results. I've ordered another color for another project.
Product Quality (5/5) Dec 13, 2012 Tom Brinson New Bern NC US
  While I give this product, overall, a high rating there is a problem with the quality of the spray tips on the aerosol cans. On a double order I only had one tip that would spray on four cans. Neither of the paint can tips would spray and only one of the degreaser cans would spray. I used the one good tip on all four cans. The procedure is easy to follow and the results are as advertised.
Owner DSSTactical (5/5) Dec 12, 2012 Sheri Rogers Rio Rancho NM US
  This works well when we do not have time to send our blades out to get coated. We have had 0 complaints
nice finish! (5/5) Dec 22, 2012 dan Ka US
  it was just as i expected. simply shake, spray, and bake. it went on easy and seems to be very tough. i recommend it.

Back to previous page

1 2