Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
This is where to start. (5/5) Jan 5, 2013 Joshua Ciesieslki Riverton WY US
  I was worried about how I could apply a firearm finish like Duracoat with good results. Tried blueing years ago on my first .22 pistol with awful results. The Shake N Spray Kit seemed easy but was hard for me to believe I could have a decent finish for $70 (including matte clear & shipping). Met a man in the field where I work & saw the Duracoat finish on his AR that he applied himself. The finish looked factory applied, & due to his young age (a lot younger than me), I figured if he could do it, so could I. Needless to say, I have ordered over 5 Shake N Spray Kits to date. And that finished 3, 1911 pistols (one was for a fellow employee); 2 AR's & 1 AR on the way (including their magazines, sights, etc). The kit comes with degreaser, scouring pad, resin, hardner & sprayer. The sprayer applies the Duracoat with a fine sort of texture that makes the finish look interesting without looking "bumpy". For a smoother finish, one would have to buy Duracoat in individual bottles & apply with a high quallity airbrush that Houts Enterprises sell on their website. But for an excellent, easy & durable finsh without having to purchase extra supplies to prep the firearm, Houts Enterprises Shake N Spray Kit is where to start.

Garryowen, Wind In Your Sails, Into The Wild Blue Yonder & Semper Fi
shake and spray (5/5) Jan 4, 2013 Stephen Castello Gold Canyon Ar US
  This product is so simple to use. Just follow the instructions and do exactly as instructed. Don't try shortcuts, that's one thing I knew before even ordering this great product. I finished one complete rifle and set of seven mags. I still had enough product left to do an absolutely fantastic job on a crossbow pistol. Since I was dealing with steel, aluminum alloys, composite materials, and fiberglass, I did not use heat. But I let these weapons sit for 4 weeks. I am proud to say the finish looks great after several trips to the range. Very strong and scratch resistant. For the money, you cannot beat this product.
2nd order (5/5) Jan 4, 2013 wrs allentown pa US
  you guys are the best.not only did i refinished my glock i also did my ps3,but now every1 that sees my gun n ps3 wants to buy it....got people asking me coat even there mom in law.lol.guys keep up the good job
Dark blue (5/5) Dec 28, 2012 Anonymous
  Extreme fast service.definetly will keep buying.keep up the good work.
Easy great kit (5/5) Dec 22, 2012 Chris Gordon Louisville Ke US
  Goes on we'll and LASTS! Put this product on an old revolver for a Christmas present last year. Went on great with no problems and still look GREAT after heavy use. Would recommend to anyone.
civilian/vet (5/5) Dec 20, 2012 michael birrell roosevelt ut US
  great prouduct and price.
vray1 (3/5) Dec 20, 2012 Thomas V Ray Cartersville Ga US
  I purchased the Dura Coat shake and spray system I followed the instructions religously then when I went to sray the only thing that came out of the preval spayer was splatter what a big let down I could not get a smooth spray pattern I had to wipe the barrel down with acetone degrease and put the paint in my sprayer which worked out real well The dura coat is a very good product but stay away from the preval spayer
owner (5/5) Dec 18, 2012 mike absher lansing nc US
  All materials works great. The only thing is to remember the full cure time before being to rough with product coated. Thanks mike
Shake n Spray Review (5/5) Dec 17, 2012 Bob Shynski Port Richey FL US
  Recently decided to take the leap and try the kit for an older rifle that was almost 90 yrs old that needed refinieshed. Since in such good shape besides the cracked stock which I fixed and the blueing gone wanted to protect it long term again to keep it in that shape. Cleaned and degreased the firearm and then sandd lightly. The barrel and everything went fine except for the reciever which was my fault as I held the spray to far away. Luckily with some steel wool, a razor and some acetone was able to remove the finish and clean and degreae again and refinish properly.

No issues the second time. The sprayer must be close but not to close, maybe 8inches and eventhough it will look like it will cover the engravings, etc after it dries everything will be fine. Highly recommend as I have done two different firearms now and all the people ask me how I did it and could I do ones for them. Highly recommend if a little patient and are used to spray painting and doing it right. Cannot go wrong.
Great product (5/5) Dec 16, 2012 Bill Florence Niceville Fl US
  Easy to follow instructions and easy to apply. Take your time and follow the instructions as written, and it gives you a fabulous finish. Looks professional, feels high end and refreshes any old tire well loved firearm and makes it a new toy again. Love it!! I will re-order again,just trying to figure out which one gets the next treatment.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21