Shake N Spray Kit - reviews

Global Rating: 4.70 from 206 reviews.

Add your own review for this product

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
rating title date name city state/province country
something new (5/5) Jun 8, 2014 Anonymous
  After much thought, I gave it a try. Had a Remington 1911R1 that I had "accidently" taken the finish off with my ultrasonic cleaner. I figured nothing to lose, so give it a shot. It came out GREAT!!! Coyote tan with the wood grips really makes a great looking gun. Had enough paint left so with my first attempt a success, I refinished my DPMS oracle. It came out even better (practice makes better).

I think I need to find another "clunker" gun to experiment with. This stuff is great!!!!
Stick (4/5) Jun 2, 2014 Anonymous N US
  I ordered the WWII OD Green, and it came in a timely fashion. I followed the instructions,(also a couple of youtube videos) and it applied fairly easy. After letting it set up a full day, i applied the Gloss finish. My AR 15 platform in 7.62x39 looks like something from the 1979 Air Force AGE yard. I hated OD back in the day, but now my ar looks vintage. Very cool. Will/ have ordered more for my son's AR 10. Kudos.
Shake & Spray (5/5) May 19, 2014 David Carpentier Averill Park NY US
  Product very easy to use. Just finished a shotgun for my wife and it is in the "curing" stage right now. Looks good. I'll probably redo a ruger handgun next and use this product again.
Tuff stuff (5/5) May 17, 2014 John folk Elburn Il US
  Purchased this product in matte black for my aging Saiga AK 47
Easy to use as directed. Spray lite coats 5-10 minutes apart and you'll get
A really nice finish. I let it cure for 24 hours before reasemly. This looks great and is very durable.
The only negative I had was when I shook the bottle it leaked out between the can and plastic sleeve. Wear gloves, it's very tough to remove once on your skin, other than that, I highly recommend it
Shake n Spray (5/5) May 17, 2014 Vincent Las Vegas Ne US
  WoW , My first complete paint job and it came out looking completely professional . I started with a Polish Tantal that was pretty beat , it looked like someone had done a rattle can job on 40 years ago . The true strip started out working great , after the first couple parts though the scuff pad started getting clogged and i ran out of it pretty fast so i ended up putting the rest of my parts in the blast cabinet to get the major gunk and old paint off . If you don't have access to a media blaster i recommend 2 cans of true strip , the stuff does work excellent but if your doing a complete rifle there is not enough there in my opinion . once i got all of my parts squeeky clean i applied the paint , i used a desert tan series and it went on like buttery smooth , the mix was simple , just follow the directions , or better yet watch the video the dude from lauer custom finishes has on you tube , its very easy to understand and if you can follow his direction your almost guaranteed good results . i did three coats waiting about 4 minutes between each , just make sure you don't use too much and don't get too close to your parts when spraying , do make sure you cover the complete part , look at it from all angles and make sure your getting even coverage . i did it in my garage with the garage door open all the way at night when there was no wind at all and the temp was a dry 68 degrees , my stuff came out crazy good , i really cant believe how good it looks and it feels like a really strong coating . remember , clean parts and even thorough coats will get awesome results .
Marlin 336 barrel (4/5) May 6, 2014 Rob Apfel Green Bay wi US
  I prepped to gun the way they told me and I had a disaster when the product fisheyed on part of the receiver and spots on the barrel. I wiped the product down as recommended and it still fisheyed. when it dried over night I sanded it off in the morning and re shot the parts. it now looks ok except for some dust that somehow got into it. my fault but a learning lesson. this is a god product if you understand that preparation is key!! do not cut corners and try to cut out steps. do exactly like the directions say and in a clean environment ad it will turn out great.
RLB (5/5) May 3, 2014 Robert L. Banegas Campo CA US
  1st can worked great! had problem with the second can, called customer service and got a replacement.
would recommend to anyone.
Handyman (5/5) May 1, 2014 doc Louisville KY US
  I ordered my shake and spray kit and after stripping a beater 1911 down to frame and de-greasing taping it off, I applied the coating...It didn't look like the same pistol...
WORKS GOOD (5/5) Apr 26, 2014 Steve Pauley Milton GA US
  This product works very good and allows the home gun enthusiast to finish their guns themselves without paying 3 to 4 times the cost of the kit to a gunsmith or finisher. I have used this on gun metal and on stocks, wood, plastic or composite and it works well on everything I have tried it on.

Preparation is key so spend the time preparing for the painting and the drying.

Also you can mix paints to get a particular color you want.

I have done about 10 guns and some points of advise are:

1) Shake the paint well, mix it good.
2) Be sure to place the target high enough so you can get around all sides with the sprayer held upright, do not tilt the sprayer bottle.
3) Do not touch the item after spraying for 24 hours, resist the urge to play with it.
4) The fumes are strong so dry it in a well ventilated space preferably not in the house.
5) Keep a small amount back so that if you notice areas you missed or imperfections you have the paint left to correct them. I have used paint 12 to 14 hours in the bottle after initial painting and it was good.
Great! (5/5) Apr 25, 2014 Richard Carrier Rome Ne US
  Very easy to use kit. I painted a Mosin-Nagant Mod91/30 that had a terrable finish, some blued and some touched up with paint! Prep was very easy and paint went on without a problem. The painted finish looks great and durable. Nobody can believe my gun was built in 1942 now. I plan on another project using DuraCoat Firearm Finishes soon.

Back to previous page

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21